York St John University / York Theatre Royal Graduate Prize

York St John University and York Theatre Royal are excited to announce the winners of the 2016 York Theatre Royal Graduate Prize:

Phoenix Theatre for Through the Gap

Phoenix Theatre Company / York St John Create Festival 2016

Phoenix Theatre Company / York St John Create Festival 2016

Phoenix are: Georgie Fishkin, Casey Fox, Jodie Glover, Kate Higgins and Jessica Robson.

The prize is awarded each year to a final year student or group of students studying theatre at York St John University. As well as recognising the excellence of work produced by YSJU theatre students, the prize also represents both organisations commitment to assisting creative individual in the post-graduation transition to professional arts practice.

The Prize is judged by a panel including the Artistic and Associate Directors of the Theatre Royal. The prize winners will receive a period of artistic mentoring at the York Theatre Royal and the opportunity to present work at a platform event hosted by the theatre in autumn 2016.

Through the Gap was a performance developed by the students following a year long process of accumulating resources and insights surrounding the experience of women within the criminal justice system. The performance drew on this material to show audiences what it means to be a woman in prison, from losing their identity to looking towards the future.

Juliet Forster, Associate Director of YTR, said of the award:

“The company demonstrated an extraordinary level of performance skill and sensitivity in adapting real women’s stories for the stage, creating an exciting, memorable and moving piece. We are delighted to be working with such a dynamic and passionate young company.”

Jessica Robson, said on behalf of all five students:

“We are so grateful for winning the prize and feel very humbled and overwhelmed with the great feedback. We are very excited to be working with the York Theatre Royal over the next year and to be given a chance to perform our show again at the theatre! Thank you to York St John and York Theatre Royal for selecting us for the prize and providing us with this opportunity.”